Order of the Black Star - (1889-1963)
This Order was established by King Toffa of Porto-Novo (present day capital of Benin) to recognize the service of his loyal subjects and the French Colonial forces, which assisted them in the Dahomey War. It was adopted as an official Order of France in 1896. It was awarded in five classes (Grand Cross, Grand Officer, Commander, Officer and Knight). France bestowed the Order on Army and Navy officers, who served in French West Africa (Senegal, Sudan, Niger, Guinea, Dahomey (Benin) and the Ivory Coast) and also in Equatorial Africa (Congo, Gabon, Tchad and Oubangi-Chari (Central African Republic)). The Order is designed as a Maltese cross with four white enamel arms with borders of blue. Four golden rays (silver for Knights) are placed between each arm of the cross. A small five-pointed black star is mounted on the center of the planchet. The planchet is suspended from the pale blue ribbon by a green enamel laurel wreath. The reverse is the same as the obverse. The decoration is 45 mm for Knights and 62 mm for the other grades.


Grand Cross, Sash Badge and Plaque


Black Star of Benin Commander, Officer and Knight

National Order of Dahomey (1960-1986)
The National Order of Dahomey was the highest award of the independent country until replaced by the National Order of Benin. It is a five-pointed star with rays between each point. The obverse features the coat-of-arms of the country surrounded by a laurel wreath. The reverse has a central disk surrounded by the inscription, REPUBLIQUE DU DAHOMEY 1960 and FRATERNITE-JUSTICE-TRAVAIL on three lines in the center.

National Order of Dahomey

Benin Order of Social Merit, Order of Merit Version 2 and Version 1
& Order of Agricultural Merit

    Other Post-Colonial Medals
    • National Order of the Popular Republic of Benin
    • Medal of Honor of the Police