State of Vietnam

National Order (1950-1975)
Emperor Bao Dai established this Order during the summer of 1950 when the State of Vietnam (1949 to 1955) joined the French Union. The Order also continued in use through the Republic period. It was awarded in five classes (Grand Cross, Grand Officer, Commander, Officer and Knight) to reward persons living or dead, who have distinguished themselves by grandiose works, remarkable deeds, bravery, or lofty virtues and outstanding knowledge. It has five patterned rays in gold with a central red disk, engraved TO-QUOC TRI-AN (Gratitude of the Fatherland). There is a Greek key design on a blue background surrounding the central disk. Below the disk is a coiled dragon's tail. The star is suspended from a dragon's head. The reverse is plain. It is pictured here with the rare original ribbon patterned after the country's flag. In actuality, it was awarded with a red ribbon edged in yellow. The slightly convex star has a blank reverse. There are also French made and U.S. made versions of this medal. Many of the earlier U.S. versions are generally flat in comparison to the non-U.S. pieces.

National Order 5th Class with original proposed ribbon design, National Order 1st Class with sash and National Order 4th Class with actual ribbon

Other Medals of the State of Vietnam
  • Armed Forces Honor Medal Officer Class
  • Armed Forces Honor Medal Enlisted Class
  • Campaign Medal 1949-1954*
  • Chuong My First Class
  • Chuong My Second Class
  • Cross of Gallantry (individual award)
  • Cross of Gallantry (unit award)
  • Military Merit Medal (Bao Dai version)
  • Wound Medal

Armed Forces Honor Medal 1st and 2nd Class and Campaign Medal

The Campaign Medal was actually established in 1964 during the Republican period, but backdated to the 1949-1954 French War against the Viet Minh Communists.


Chuong My 1st and 2nd Class and Cross of Gallantry

Military Merit Medal (Bao Dai version) and Vietnam Wound Medal