The Persian Gulf War was the first major coalition effort to restore peace to a troubled region of the globe. To do so involved a period of buildup known as Desert Shield (August 2, 1990 to January 16, 1991), a brief, but very effective war against Iraq (January 17, 1991 to February 29, 1991) and a prolonged period of peacekeeping activity, which continues to this very day. The coalition action gave rise to the issuance of numerous new medals. Presented here are some of the more prominent medals. These medals and many others are fully chronicled in my book, The Campaign Decorations and Medals of the Persian Gulf War (1990-1991)
Medals of the Persian Gulf War

Argentina, Australia and Bahrain

Canada, Denmark., Egypt and France

Greece, Italy and Kuwait

Kuwait, Kuwait and the Netherlands

Persian Gulf War Page 2 >>