Federation of South Arabia 1963-67
This entity was formed by the joining of the British colony of Aden and the Emirates of the South. By late 1967 the National Liberation Front had become dominant and forced the collapse of the federal government. British forces were withdrawn in November 1967. Aden and South Arabia became the independent state of South Yemen South. Yemen and (northern) Yemen united as a single nation in 1990.

Gulf Cooperation Council
Saudi Arabia was a prime mover in setting up the Gulf Cooperation Council in 1981. Other members are Bahrain, Kuwait, Oman, Qatar and the United Arab Emirates (UAE). The Gulf Cooperation Council aims to coordinate resistance to outside intervention in the region. The Gulf Cooperation Council issues its Order of Honor.