The Persian Gulf States

The Persian Gulf, also known as the Arabian Gulf, is a 600-mile-long body of water, which separates Iran from the Arabian Peninsula, and one of the most strategic waterways in the world due to its importance in world oil transportation. At its narrowest point, the Strait of Hormuz, the Gulf narrows to only 34 miles wide. The largely pro-US region is responsible for more than of the world's oil supply.

The Persian Gulf States consist of Bahrain, Kuwait, Oman, Qatar, Saudi Arabi, the United Arab Emirates and Yemen. The United Arab Emirates, referred to elsewhere as the Trucial States, is composed of the following seven sheikdoms: Abu Zaby, 'Ajman, Al Fujayrah, Dubai, Ra's al Khaymah and Umm al Qaywayn.,P> This portion of the web site is intended to assist scholars and collectors with the identification of many complex and detailed orders and medals issued by the member countries. It has absolutely, positively neither a political interest in the region nor does it intend support for the region. It is strictly informational. For more details on the medals themselves, we recommend

We would like to thank Emmanuel Halleux and invite other interested scholars and collectors to submit images for posting on this site. All submissions will be acknowledged, if so desired.