Order of the Golden Fleece

The Order of the Golden Fleece was established in 1430 under the House of Burgundy. In 1477, it was passed to the House of Hapsburg and was continued under the Spanish branch of the Hapsburgs. The initial Spanish investiture occured in 1519. In 1700, Phillip V and Ferdinand VI united the Order to the Crown of Spain. In 1712, however, the House of Austria reclaimed the Order. Since then, there have been two Orders of the Golden Fleece, one conferred by the Austrian Monarch and the other by the Spanish Monarch. The Order continues to be awarded in modern times by the Spanish monarch, King Juan Carlos.

Royal Collar

Gold Collars

Badges of the Order and Secretary's Badge

Austrian Badge