Comoro Islands

Located in a strategic position at the northern end of the Mozambique Channel, the Comoro Islands once played a major role in a thriving world economy of the western Indian Ocean. The four major islands are: Ngazidja (Grande Comore), Mwali (Moheli), Nzwani (Anjouan), and Maore (Mayotte). For a period of time (1912-1946), the Comoro Islands were administratively a part of Madgascar.

The islands became a French colony following the Berlin conference of 1886-7 and remained under French control until 1975. Three of the islands: Ngazidja, Mwali, and Nzwani, declared themselves independent from France in 1975 and became the Federal Islamic Republic of the Comoro Islands. The fourth major island of the archipelago, Mayotte (Maore), continues to be administered by France although it's status has been continuously challenged by the Comoro government. The claim that Mayotte belongs within the sphere of the independent nation of the Comoros has been recognized by the United Nations General Assembly. In 1997, separatists on the islands of Nzwani and Mwali declared their islands to be independent from the Republic. This led to the breakup of the Republic and a reformation of the government of the Comoro Islands as a Union in 2002.

Order of the Star of Said Ali or Comoro (1892-
The Archipelago of Comoro is a group of islands located in the Indian Ocean at the north end of the Madagascar Channel. The Sultan of Comoro established the Order to recognize meritorious service by civilian or military personnel. It was awarded in four classes, Grand Cross, Commander, Officer and Knight. Its design is based on a double-sided five-pointed star of dark green enamel with gold ball finials at the end of each point. The star is layered over rays of gold between each arm. A raised Arabic inscription is encircled in the center of the star. This is suspended from a large golden crescent with small green enamel star(s) on it (three on the Commander grade and one on the Knight grade). The original metal design of this Order (Ancien) varies considerably from the later enameled version. The change took place in 1896.

Order of the Star of Anjouan - (1874-1963)
Sultan Mohamed Said Omar established this Order in 1874 to recognize distinguished service to the Comoro Protectorate, including the Comoros, Reunion Island and Madagascar and to France. It was awarded in five classes (Grand Cross, Grand Officer, Commander, Officer and Knight). The design is an eight-pointed star. The central white enamel design features a gold crescent surmounted by a hand and an Arabic inscription above it. This is surrounded by an inscription in French, which reads, Royal Order of the Star of Anjouan Comoros on a gold background. The original ribbon design of red with two white side stripes changed in 1892.

Sultan SAID HOUSSEIN of Moroni, Grand Comoros with Order of the Star of the Great Comoro or Said-Ali, Order of the Star of Anjouan and Madagascar National Order

Ancient Star Of Comoro, Star of Comoro Commander
& Knight's Badge

Order of the Star of Comoro Plaque

Star of Anjouan Plaque and Knight's Badge

Order of the Green Crescent Commander
Star of Anjouan Commander

Presidential Guard Badge

Gendarme Medal of Honor

Other Medals
  • Order of the Star of Moheli, created 1851
  • Police Service Medal
  • Medal of Indigenous Merit (Madagascar Fr. Colonial established 1901 and awarded for service between 1912-1946)
  • Medal for Work (Madagascar Fr. Colonial established 1920 and awarded for service between 1912-1946)
  • Medal of Honor for Posts and Telegraphs (Madagascar Fr. Colonia1 established 1929 and awarded for service between 1912-1946)

    Post-Colonial Medals

  • Medal of May 13, 1978
  • Medal of Military Merit
  • Medal of Military Valor